Blog Post 7: E for Effort

IMG_5548

Many schools do not have reliable access to the Internet, let alone access to a 3D printer. What are some creative ways a teacher could integrate the 3D modeling process into a lesson without having access to a 3D printer (or the cost associated with outsourcing printing to a service)? How could a teacher push the limits of the free software and apps to encourage learning that connects to standards and strong learning outcomes?

I really like the idea of students using the software (especially Sclupt+) to explore to possibilities of 3D creation. Students can share their creations with parents online or teachers can display their virtual creations using QR codes in the hallway. Additionally, I created the following popplet to share some ideas:

http://popplet.com/app/Popplet_Alpha.swf?page_id=2710760&em=1

I also found an additional app for younger students called Mickey Mouse Clay Maker.

screen520x924

Reflect on tonight’s activities and discuss the various apps and activities we explored. Also include at least one image of process and/or the artifact you created:

I struggled again this week to make my 3D printer work. I download Repetier and changed all the settings. I plugged in the printer and it would not connect. My husband and I did some additional research and tried using Cura instead. The printer installed with Cura but was only able to print flat objects. 😦 Instead I practiced using 123D Sculpt. I tried it using my school’s wifi and it worked!

671B0D8B-43ED-45FC-A57D-66802E9098C2

3 things you learned today:

-New and fun ways to use 3D printers in classrooms

-Ways to incorporate 3D design in classrooms without a printer

-New resources online for viewing 3D models

2 things you want to learn more about:

-I want to test out Sculpt+ with my students this week.

-How to actually 3D print.

1 thing that you are confused about and/or is driving you crazy:

Why won’t my printer work!!!!???!!

Blog Post 7: E for Effort

Leave a comment